Standing over 1247 meters above sea level, Mount Baluran is the easternmost mountain in the island of Java. This mountain is a natural habitat for wild bison, protected species that can still be found around the Park Baluran. (Ayos Purwoaji / Travelboogie)

Ayos Purwoaji, one of our writers, received a special assignment from National Geographic Indonesia to report the current condition of the Baluran National Park in Situbondo, East Java. He also will report any park ranger’s effort  for this”Little Africa” continued sustainable.

In this assignment, Ayos will work with Swiss Winasis, a talented young wildlife photographers. Ayos will be in the national park for three days, starting March 10 and ended by March 13, 2011.

Assignment Note: Swiss Winasis and I, photographed by Dwi Putri Ratnasari at Bekol savannah. During my assignment, Swiss helped me so much. He even scheduled a short interview with the head of the national park.

Swiss Winasis and I, photographed by Dwi Putri Ratnasari in the Bekol, main savannah at Baluran National Park. During my assignment, Swiss helped me so much. He set me for a short-interview with the chief officer of National Park.

